Times Have Changed or Have They?

I pulled out some of my old books the other day when I was trying to decide what my next topic should be.  I should mention that by old books, I mean just that.  I did my thesis on an Economic Comparison of 1910 Agriculture to Modern Day Agriculture and in my research I stumbled across some really interesting books.

1912_Manual_on_Manure_as_Fertilizer.JPG  Publish_Date.JPG

I am not sure if you can read the copyright on this book but it is 1911.

IMG_1425

And while the media may have changed from hard covered books to iPads, farmers have the same thing in mind.  How do we protect our land and our animals?  How to we provide for our families? How to we secure our farms for the next generation?

Science and technology has improved agriculture.  It has made it more sustainable, as it has many other industries.  I am always amazed when I hear people refer to new improvements and technology as unsustainable.  Why is in technology unsustainable and frowned upon in agriculture, but considered the promising future for other industries?

Just a few thoughts to ponder ….

Until tomorrow .

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

